A Love Story in Clay

1. Tenderness



2. Passion



3. Abuse



4. Remorse 



Terra sigillata on fired earthenware clay


A Love Story in Clay (2014) is an exploration of touch and emotion in various potential stages of romantic relationships. The series is composed of what may be interpreted as four highly abstracted human forms. The first three pieces are direct representations of physical contact, whereas the final piece is symbolic. While titles for the individual works provide a focused interpretive framework, the underlying narrative or narratives evoked by the series title are more ambiguous.